Question:

What is the penalty of theft under 500 in Tennessee if it's your first offense?

Answer:

Theft under $500 is classified as a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee. A Class A misdemeanor can result in jail time or a fine.

More Info:

Tennessee misdemeanor Tennessee misdemeanor Law
Criminal law

Homicide

Criminal law is the body of law that relates to crime. It regulates social conduct and proscribes threatening, harming, or otherwise endangering the health, safety, and moral welfare of people. It includes the punishment of people who violate these laws. Criminal law differs from civil law, whose emphasis is more on dispute resolution and victim compensation than on punishment.

Crimes
Legal terms

The legal year, in English law as well as in other common law jurisdictions, is the calendar during which the judges sit in court. It is traditionally divided into periods called "terms."

In England, the year is divided into four terms:

Theft Burglary

Homicide

In United States law, a gross misdemeanor is a crime which is more serious than a regular misdemeanor, but is still classified as a minor crime, as opposed to serious crimes. Such crimes may include petty theft, simple assault or driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs. Typically, the maximum sentence is one year in county jail and/or $5,000 in fines.

Law Crime Sports Education USD
News:


Related Websites:


Terms of service | About
17