What form of government does Aruba have?


Aruba has its own constitution, based on Western democratic principles. The governor of Aruba holds office for 6 yrs. AnswerParty!

More Info:


Portal icon Politics portal

Aruba, a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic country, whereby the prime minister is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Federal legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. Aruba has full autonomy on most matters. Exceptions are defence, foreign affairs, and the Supreme Court. The constitution was enacted in January 1986. Executive power rests with a governor, and a prime minister heads an eight-member Cabinet. The governor of Aruba is appointed for a six-year term by the monarch, and the prime minister and deputy prime minister are elected by the Staten for four-year terms. The legislature or Staten is made up of 21 members elected by direct, popular vote to serve four-year terms.

in Europe (top right) and the Caribbean (bottom left)

The Kingdom of the Netherlands (Dutch: About this sound Koninkrijk der Nederlanden  Dutch pronunciation: [ˈkoːnɪŋkrɛik dɛr ˈneːdərlɑndə(n)]; Papiamento: Reino Hulandes), commonly known as the Netherlands, is a sovereign state and constitutional monarchy with territory in Western Europe and in the Caribbean. The four parts of the kingdom – Aruba, Curaçao, the Netherlands, and Sint Maarten – are referred to as countries and participate on a basis of equality as partners in the kingdom. In practice, however, most of the kingdom affairs are administered by the Netherlands (which comprises roughly 98% of the kingdom's land area and population) on behalf of the entire kingdom, with Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten being dependent on the Netherlands.

Government Politics

This article is about communications systems in Aruba.

The following outline is provided as an overview of and introduction to Aruba:

Aruba – Caribbean island nation that is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Aruba comprises the Island of Aruba, an island of the Lesser Antilles archipelago, 33 kilometres (21 mi) in length in the southern Caribbean Sea, 27 kilometres (17 mi) north of the Paraguaná Peninsula, Falcón State, Venezuela. A country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Aruba has no administrative subdivisions. Unlike much of the Caribbean region, Aruba has a dry climate and an arid, cactus-strewn landscape. This climate has helped tourism as visitors to the island can reliably expect warm sunny weather. It has a land area of 193 km2 (75 sq mi) and lies outside the hurricane belt.

Portal icon Politics portal

Aruba's State Constitution was unanimously approved by all political parties represented in Aruba's Parliament on a January 1, 1986, and was proclaimed in the Afkondigingsblad van Aruba, No.26, 1985, on January 1, 1986.


Related Websites:

Terms of service | About