What does it mean to be in an honors program in a university?


The IUPUI Honors Program provides students with excellent educational experiences and opportunities that supplement, MORE?

More Info:

The Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities is an organization mostly of U.S. universities located in metropolitan areas. The CUMU was founded in 1990.


Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) is the premier urban campus of Indiana University and Purdue University in Indianapolis, Indiana, United States. Indiana University is the managing partner. IUPUI offers undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees from both universities.

IUPUI offers more than 250 degrees and ranks among the top 20 in the country in the number of first professional and health-related degrees it confers. It is the home campus to the Indiana University School of Medicine, the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, Indiana University School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, and the Indiana University School of Dentistry. The school also boasts the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, the Indiana University School of Nursing, the Indiana University School of Social Work, the Indiana University Fairbanks School of Public Health, the Indiana University School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, the Indiana University School of Informatics, the Center on Philanthropy, the Purdue School of Science and the Purdue School of Engineering and Technology.

Higher, post-secondary, tertiary or third level education is the stage of learning that occurs at universities, academies, colleges, seminaries, and institutes of technology. Higher education also includes certain college-level institutions, such as vocational schools, trade schools, and career colleges, that award academic degrees or professional certifications.

The right of access to higher education is mentioned in a number of international human rights instruments. The UN International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights of 1966 declares, in Article 13, that "higher education shall be made equally accessible to all, on the basis of capacity, by every appropriate means, and in particular by the progressive introduction of free education". In Europe, Article 2 of the First Protocol to the European Convention on Human Rights, adopted in 1950, obliges all signatory parties to guarantee the right to education.


Joseph Thomas Taylor (February 11, 1913 - September 23, 2000) was named dean of Indiana University at the downtown Indianapolis Campus on February 24, 1967. In 1972, he became the first dean of the newly created School of Liberal Arts at Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Joseph Thomas Taylor was born on February 11, 1913 in Rolling Fork, Mississippi to Joseph and Willie Ann Taylor. He spent his youth in Memphis, Tennessee and East St. Louis, Illinois. Segregation was in effect in that region and he went to an all-black school until he attended college at Wiley College in Marshall, Texas. After transferring to the University of Illinois at Urbana, Taylor graduated with his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1936 and a Master of Arts degree in 1937. Between the years of 1939 and 1941, he was an instructor at Florida A&M University in Tallahassee. His career continued with his appointment as Area Director for the National Youth Administration from 1941 to 1942.

Blue and White at IPFW campus;

Crimson and Old Gold at IUPUI and IUPUC campuses

The North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), also known as the North Central Association, is a membership organization, consisting of colleges, universities, and schools in 19 U.S. states, that is engaged in educational accreditation. It is one of six regional accreditation bodies in the United States, and its Higher Learning Commission is recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as a regional accreditor for higher education institutions.

The NCA accredits over 10,000 public and private educational institutions in its service area, including more than 1,000 higher education institutions. The service area includes the states of Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, as well as the Navajo Nation.

The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is an organization of state-supported colleges and universities that offer degree programs leading to bachelor's, master's or doctoral degrees. AASCU grew out of the Association of Teacher Education Institutions that had been organized in 1951 to serve public comprehensive institutions most of them having begun as single purpose institutions, most of them normal schools.

Members of AASCU work to extend higher education to all citizens, including those who have been traditionally underrepresented on college campuses. By delivering America’s promise, these institutions fulfill the expectations of a public university by working for the public good through education and engagement, thereby improving the lives of people in their community, their region and their state. The American Association of State Colleges and Universities represents more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems of higher education throughout the United States and its territories.

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), formerly the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC) is an American voluntary, non-profit association of public research universities, land-grant institutions, and state university systems. It has member campuses in all 50 states and the U.S. territories. The association is governed by a Chair and Board of Directors elected from the member universities and university systems.

The association’s membership includes 218 institutions, consisting of state universities, among them 76 U.S. land-grant institutions, of which 18 are the historically black institutions. In addition, APLU represents the interests of the nation’s 33 American Indian land-grant colleges through the membership of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC). APLU campuses enroll more than 4.7 million students and are estimated to have more than 20 million alumni.

Education Religion Belief Social Issues Religion Belief

Related Websites:

Terms of service | About