Allegheny County schools, courts tackle truancy
In Pennsylvania, school attendance is mandatory ... Students convicted of truancy can lose their driver's license for up to 90 days for a first offense and an additional six months for every additional truancy conviction. Schools report their worst truancy ...
Should Kids Be Fined If They Skip School?
a new superintendent of schools named Kelt Cooper wants to end high truancy rates among public school students, and he’s proposing monetary penalties to get the job done. A plan to fine ... the third offense. The Lebanon School District in Pennsylvania ...
PA Game Commission Delivers Testimony Supporting Legislation to Increase Fines and Penalties for Wildlife Violations
For example, under Title 18 PA Crimes Code, shooting a cat is a misdemeanor of the first degree with a minimum fine of $1,000 and up to two years in prison. For a second offense the grading escalates to a felony of the third degree with imprisonment of up ...
Three Reasons for Pessimism - Offense
With football season slowly closing in on us, we decided to look at the good and bad about Penn State's offense and defense in 2014 ... in the Blue/White Game, even if the first team didn't get too much burn: it was rare that the quarterbacks would ...
Tickets for texting are scarce in Pennsylvania
Texting behind the wheel is a primary offense in Pennsylvania — you can be stopped and cited under 3316 alone — but the fine is only 50 bucks. Not that that matters much, since few people get cited. Fran Cleaver, a spokeswoman for state Sen.