Are you a democrat or republican?


I'm a democrat and proud of it. Have more questions? AnswerParty is here 24/7!

More Info:

The LGBT Equality Caucus formation was announced on June 4, 2008, by openly gay representatives Tammy Baldwin and Barney Frank. The caucus currently has 110 members (108 Democrats and 2 Republican) in the 113th United States Congress, and previously had 104 members (101 Democrats and 3 Republicans) in the 112th Congress and 91 members (90 Democrats and 1 Republican) during the 111th Congress. The caucus is co-chaired by six of the United States House of Representatives' seven openly LGB members: Representatives Jared Polis, David Cicilline, Sean Patrick Maloney, Kyrsten Sinema, Mark Pocan, and Mark Takano. Brad Jacklin serves as Executive Director.

The Indiana Treasurer of State is a constitutional and elected office in the executive branch of the government of Indiana. The treasurer is responsible for managing the finances of the U.S. state of Indiana. The position was filled by appointment from 1816 until the adoption of the new Constitution of Indiana in 1851, which made the position filled by election. As of 2009, there have been fifty-three treasurers. The incumbent Treasurer is Richard Mourdock.

The Indiana State Treasurer is a constitutional office first established in the 1816 Constitution of Indiana, and was made largely to mirror the position of the treasurer during Indiana's territorial period. Between 1816 and until 1851, the treasurer was nominated by the governor and confirmed by the state senate. With adoption of the current constitution in 1851 the treasurer's office was filled by a public statewide election every four years.

The government of Indiana is established and regulated by the Constitution of Indiana. The state-level government consists of three branches, the judicial branch, the legislative branch, and the executive branch. The three branches balance share power and jointly govern the state of Indiana. County and local governments are also constitutional bodies with limited authority to levy taxes, pass legislation, and create and maintain local public infrastructure.

The government of Indiana was first formed in December 1816 and replaced the government of the Indiana Territory. The early government came under criticism beginning as early as the 1820s for having many public offices filled by appointment and lack of delegation of authority to lower officials, requiring state level legislation for things like divorce approval. In 1851 a new constitution was adopted by the state remedying many of these problems and opening many more office to public election. Significant government reforms were enacted again in 1971 when the state courts were reorganized and new powers were granted to the governor which had historically been a weak institution.

The government of Puerto Rico is a republican form of government. It is subject to the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United States. Article I of the Constitution of Puerto Rico defines the government and its political power and authority—pursuant to U.S. Pub.L. 82–447 due to Puerto Rico's political status as a commonwealth of the United States. Ultimately, the powers of the government of Puerto Rico are all delegated by the United States Congress and lack full protection under the United States Constitution. Because of this, the head of state of Puerto Rico is the President of the United States; currently Barack Obama.

The government is composed of three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial branch. The executive branch is headed by the Governor, currently Alejandro Garcia Padilla, who is also the head of government. The legislative branch consists of a bicameral Legislative Assembly made up by the Senate as its upper house and the House of Representatives as its lower house. The governor and legislators are elected by popular vote every four years.

Government Politics

Related Websites:

Terms of service | About